h1

harlot, whore, call girl, prostitute

March 19, 2008

They’re all the same fucking thing. Interchangable in a sentence without causing loss of meaning. Apparently when I use it it takes on new meaning. It becomes editorializing at work, and I am punished, though they insist there is no punishment. Putting on final notice so I have a higher chance of being fired is NOT punishment? I may not be a genius, but I’m not stupid.

I was not editorializing in that story only changing out words. You must have intent to do that, which did not exist. You have to really care, which I do not. I only said harlot when call girl or prostitute would have fit just as easily. To make matters worse, I cannot defend myself from this. I cannot let them know I don’t care enough to editorialize, I just chose a different word because I was bored with the story. I do not care if the woman is a good one or bad one.

So because I used harlot instead of prostitute I am as close as one can be to losing my job. And people wonder why I don’t find the silver lining. This stuff always happens. I’m optimistic about the future for the first time in a long time. I’m somewhat happy. But I could lose my job, and everything. All because some stupid chick thinks harlot is worse than prostitute, because if she thinks that was editorializing then she’s stupid anyways.

3 comments

  1. Apparently the word is ‘archaic or literary’, according to the Dictionary. Speaking of which, you should show her the Dictionary definition of harlot which is, oh, let me see: prostitute!

    They fuck with your head at that job, they really do.


  2. Uh… show her the dictionary? then go to her boss and tell them she was threatening you and she also doesn’t know her words.


  3. The thing is, as the story about this gets around the office other people are saying ‘Well, I did the same thing and I agree with your side of it.’ What I did is something anyone would do innocently. If I saif also instead of too there would be no issue. I almost hope they see that a lot of people were doing it so maybe they can see it was not what they seem to assume it was. In the future I’ll refrain from being slightly creative, just to be sure. Telling me not to use possibly offensive words is what should have happened, not almost firing me over a simple misunderstanding.

    I truly am cursed with competency, I believe.



Leave a Reply

