h1

gaming update

January 4, 2008

I have nothing else to write about at the moment, so you get to hear about games I’m playing. I recently used gift cards to purchase Mega Man Anniversary Collection, Star Ocean: Til The End of Time, and Dragon Quest VIII.

  • Mega Man is a great franchise, and this collection has 1-8 on it. My son actually picked this out. I was very proud and nearly wept with happiness that he wants to play Mega Man. The thing is, these games were hard back then and they’re hard still. They really stand up to the test of time, though they do show their age. And they aged very poorly. 8 bit graphics are almost unplayable these days, which is sad.
  • Star Ocean Til The End of Time was played for about five minutes. It didn’t capture my interest yet. The game shows it’s age as well, being (I believe) a first gen game for the Playstation 2. This was back when they tried to make anime styling look more realistic. It does not work. It’s rather ugly and hard to watch at times. A sharp contrast to…
  • Dragon Quest VIII, which is very stylised with cel shading and British accents for the actors. There is a lot of spoken dialogue which is nice. My only complaints thus far is it’s almost TOO old school RPG and Akira Toriyama did the character designs. Toriyama created Dragonball Z. They all look the same. I’ve already had to grind levels too much for my liking, but it kept my interests so far. This will be my game to play this year, I’m sure. Even though it’s two years old.

I haven’t played Warcraft in about a week. I’m not even sad about this. I’m trying to make room for a social life, and anyone that’s played or knows someone who does knows it’s damned near impossible to have both. Instead of coming home from work Saturday and playing WoW I will be most likely heading to The Hill where friends will be congregated and alcohol consumed.

Now I just need more money to afford this social life.

Leave a Reply

