h1

a real genuine thank you

January 2, 2008

I mentioned LA calling. She only really does when she needs me to be a buffer or voice of reason. When she needs picking back up. When she needs to know she’s not really crazy. I’m more than glad to be those when necessary, and that’s what I did when she called earlier in the day. It’s a two way street though, because I felt like crap after throwing up most of the morning and she made me feel better.

Later, around midnight I get another call from her. She just wanted to say thank you. Thank you for being there whenever she needs me. Thank you for helping her however I can. Thank you for loving her. One of the few genuine, heartfelt thank yous I had all year. Heart swelled. Perhaps with mild delusions, but in the end I was very touched because I know how hard it is for her to say a genuine thank you.

Then there was talk of another vacation at some point briefly, but the hour was late and we both worked in the morning. I already couldn’t sleep so this wasn’t a problem.

Perhaps love holds strong no matter what, but I know that LA (much like my ex) will always be loved by me. Always be dear and important to me. And I will always answer my phone for her, too.

Leave a Reply

