h1

no day off for me

August 30, 2007

I mentioned being off work at Kroger tonight, but that has become a lie. There is a bonus to it, though. My manager called out over the store PA for me to call him. When I did he asks.

“Can you come in and work tomorrow?”

I thought a second and was initially pissed, but I decided to use it to my advantage. “Sure, but only if I can have off Friday instead.” He assented to this stipulation, so now I work tonight but have Friday and Saturday off. The upside is my son will stay the night on Friday. This makes me very happy.

As I’ve said before, there’s nothing like waking up to find a a four year old an inch from your face whispering as loudly as possible “Daddy, are you awake?” All in a good way, of course. That’s about the cutest thing in the world, and shows he’s a very good boy because instead of waking up and getting into things he wakes me up first. Then we will either go and get or I will make breakfast while we watch cartoons and movies, play games, or I try to teach him music theory and/or basic physics (yes, I teach him as much as I can when the opportunity arise, so a squeaking swingset once turned into a lesson about friction and Newton’s Laws of Motion).

I have Friday night planned out already. We will go grocery shopping, because he loves it and I need groceries. Probably at Kroger, since I get some kind of a discount (I think) and so he can meet my coworkers (to whom I brag about him all the time). Then we will go home and put away said groceries and begin dinner discussions. I might call my mom and see if she wants to come by and see us (usually she does) because her and my son enjoy it so much. My dad declined an invitation last weekend, and from what I hear is being a general asshat right now.

The next morning is breakfast, and if we go out it will be to someplace we can get pancakes. He doesn’t usually eat well with me, anymore. I guess that’s the tradeoff for being so good. The ex says he eats like a horse there, but he hardly eats anything when he’s with me. He is very good and listens well with me, but doesn’t listen so well with the ex. All things balance out, I suppose.

At any rate, it has been a very long week and I’m glad to get paid and have days off finally. It will be a good weekend. Me and Particleboy plan to see Superbad on Saturday night. Relaxation here I come!

Leave a Reply

