h1

shot down

August 3, 2007

So the other day I needed change for a five. The change machine, however, hated the poor condition of the bill. A nice looking woman at work dug for change, but came up short. Instead she gave me the dollar I was hoping for.

This presented an interesting opportunity for me. I thought “She’s cute and seemingly nice, so maybe I could ask her out to lunch.” So today I paid back the dollar and presented the offer. “I don’t know if that would be appropriate” she said and declined, though she did say it was a nice thought. So what does that mean? I asked why it would be to no explanation, though none is really necessary. At least she was nice about it.

My guess is maybe she’s involved. She’s not married, or rather I saw no rings. Such is life. Would have been nice, though. The biggest thing is I did ask. It’s hard for me to do that, as any regular readers would know. Yet another baby step taken, and they add up eventually.

What I did do in the end is leave the option open with “If you think better of it, let me know. Thank you again.” I’m not depressed, though I am proud of myself for at least chancing it.

2 comments

  1. Wow, that was very brave by my standards.

    If it was me, I would have given her the dollar back and ran away without even a smile. I’m so superlame. So it’s great that you dared to ask. You won’t be declined always.


  2. Thanks. You just have to force yourself, despite your better fears. Not easy, but gets easier with time.



Leave a Reply

