h1

more than meets the eye

July 8, 2007

Oh yeah, I said it. And you know what I’m going to be talking about.

(The Mute Math version of the theme is better than Black Lab’s.)

I was finally able to see Transformers. I loved it. If I had a five star rating system for such things, I’d give it four.That makes me a little sad, but there’s three reasons why I can’t give this a five. But more on that later.

The Good:
It’s Transformers live action movie. I mean, how could you not like it if you’re any kind of fan of the original content? It was at times very funny, but not in a forced way. Mostly dealing with their size and trying not to be seen, but funny nonetheless. The story tends to try to be serious, but not too much so. I mean, it is a bunch of giant robots from outer space that turn into vehicles. How serious can it be taken?


Gorgeous CG effects. Nuff said on that, with the exception of one issue later on.

I had my doubts about liking this film. I really wanted it to be good, and because of that need I was scared. Honestly, that all went away when the lights dimmed, the movie started, and Optimus Prime told of Cyberton. I got a little misty… down there. I’m not afraid to admit that that was the moment I knew no matter what I was going to enjoy the film.

Bumblee wasn’t useless, which was nice, but he wasn’t a Beetle, which was just shitty. Starscream wasn’t a complete and total bitch. Optimus sounded and was animated in a way that said Leader. Jazz was the token black guy, but that was always his role. Soundwave great comic relief, but nothing like the cartoon counterpart. All of the transformations were beautiful to watch.

I could just go on and on about this. The actors (Shia Labeouf especially) were well chosen, the script was decent, the jokes were funny for fans (Shia at one point tells the chick he thinks there’s “more than meets the eye to her” then talks about how lame that was), and everything had a nice level of polish. This film was not rushed, which is a damned good thing.

The Bad:
Honestly, there are two bad things about this film for me. One being the cliche love story between Sam (Shia Labeouf) and the typical “hot chick dating the jerk dock”. That could have been left on the cutting room floor, though it might have hurt some great moments for Bumblebee. Sorry, I like romantic comedies but I came to see giant robots fight not watch some dude try to get his mack on.

The other complaint is the camera work in some of the action scenes. Megatron and Optimus Prime are fighting and the camera’s so close you can barely make out what’s going on. Given, it added a more realistic shaky camera effect, but if I wanted real I’d go see Sicko. This wasn’t always a problem, since the extreme close ups did allow for some nice animation effects.

The Ugly:
This ruined the ending for me. I can’t say why, but it just did. The damned movie ended with Linkin Park. That crap new single they put out that happens to sound just like every one of their other songs, which were better. Nowhere was the Transformers theme played, and that would have a been good spot. Then again, I didn’t like the official Black Lab version. Point being, last time I checked the Autobots and Decepticons weren’t emo.

So there ya go. Four out of five stars from Wailin for Transformers.

Leave a Reply

