h1

valentine’s day rant

February 14, 2007

Let’s think about this day. Valentine’s Day. I realise there’s actual history for the day, St Valentine’s marrying of couples forbidden to marry in, I believe, Ireland. Helping young lovers achieve happiness and be joined in the eyes of the lord made this guy a saint. Plus I think he got killed for it. I could look it up, but I’m lazy.

I don’t subscribe to the idea that it’s a manufactured holiday by card and candy companies. Those would be Mother’s and Father’s Day, but save that argument for the right time.

I do think that it’s a bit of a crock though. The fact that you love someone every day, and do everything you can to let them feel this matters so little that we had to make a special day? I have gotten in trouble in past years for not  doing enough for the day. Perhaps all I did was say “Happy Valentine’s Day, baby!” and then offer up some hot sex, but that says I see the day and that something is expected of me. Some years I did nothing. Why do I need to validate my love for someone? Fuck that.

I thought being single this year would make me a little sad for today, but really I’m okay. I think for once I can safely say doing nothing and thinking of it as a bullshit holiday is the right thing to do. I’,m not hurting anyone’s feelings this year. No one will close up shop for a few days becuase I forgot to buy a card and roses.

I’m not a romantic person, I know. I can’t say I bought my exes flowers all the time. What did I do? When she was sick, I brought soup and ginger ale. When she drank too  much, I held her hair and rubbed her back while she puked in the toilet. These are small things, true, but to me these are the things that show how much you love someone. You’re in the bathroom, kneeling in front of the toilet, and your stomach is in upheaval top spew out it’s contents in an action that is, all at the same time, smelly, sounds disgusting, and makes me want to follow suit when I see it, but I’m still right there. Telling you “Get it out. You’ll feel better afterwards”, and holding your hair out of the way. Sometimes I even toss you in the shower with only mild fondling, if necessary. Then you’re in bed and covered, and I check on you to make sure you haven’t choked on your hair or something while asleep. If THAT’S not love, then I don’t know what the fuck is.

I don’t have a good thing for the day yet, as I believe my day begins after waking, but I was thinking about this and wanted to put it down. More will come later I’m sure. Probably something about if “Hey, what’s you work schedule like so I can stalk you?” being a really great pickup line to the chick at Starbucks. I’m sorry but I think that’s funny. Maybe she won’t though. If knew her schedule I could say when to expect the verdict on it, but I’m a lousy stalker.

Leave a Reply

